What’s my right arm?


Matthew 5:27-30

Jesus said to the crowds, “You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I say to you that everyone who looks at a woman with lust has already committed adultery with her in his heart. If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away; it is better for you to lose one of your members than for your whole body to be thrown into hell. And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away; it is better for you to lose one of your members than for your whole body to go into hell.”

What are you saying to me, Lord?

(From June 13 ’08 Sacred Space)

My right hand and right arm are the things that I would supposedly use the most. Things I am dependent on for my daily living/getting along.  Something that it would very difficult to live without but not impossible. Something that causes me to sin in the course of my every day. It might be so ingrained that it isn’t quite perceivable without the light of the Holy Spirit to show it for it’s true colors. So here goes a frightening but strangely excited prayer. Dear Father, King Jesus, Comforter Spirit please show me what is my right arm or right eye?

Right arm-Something I do. A habit, a behavior that I rely on daily for my safety or survival.

Right eye – A way of seeing, an attitude or paradigm that I have carried my whole life that is not  Kingdom vision and separates me from the Triune God.

Selah

(Sacred Space continues)

By God’s grace I was born to live in freedom.
Free to enjoy the pleasures He created for me.
Dear Lord, grant that I may live as you intended,
with complete confidence in your Loving care.

Your loving care.

Leave a comment